Come back, Just come back

The final poem I am sharing this April is by the Palestinian poet, playwright, and songwriter Khaled Juma, who was raised in Al-Shaboura Refugee Camp in Rafah in Gaza. He wrote this poem in 2014.

an illustration of a window that looks into darkness ,on the windowsill is a potted flower with petals falling and a broken white and blue ceramic vase on its side
Art by Kristina Closs

Oh Rascal Children of Gaza

Oh rascal children of Gaza,
You who constantly disturbed me
with your screams under my window,
You who filled every morning
with rush and chaos,
You who broke my vase
and stole the lonely flower on my balcony.
Come back –
And scream as you want,
And break all the vases,
Steal all the flowers,
Come back,
Just come back…

2 thoughts on “Come back, Just come back

Leave a comment